About Us

Toros Outdoors - your address for everything to do with paddling! At home in Munich and the Alps, the heart in Southeast Europe, wandering around to see where there is still something to paddle. Toros Outdoors stands for adventure travel by kayak off the beaten track.
Our team gets you safely on the water and with brain, heart and passion through the travel destination of your choice!

Scheuer in Action - successful slide on the Khobitskhali (Georgia) Photo: Vera Niess

Named after the Toros Daglari, the Taurus Mountains, we started Toros Outdoors with paddling trips in Turkey in 2009. Today our top destinations are in the Balkans and the Caucasus. We start spring in the classic way at Easter Italy, Albania, Montenegro and Greece.

Even if whitewater paddling is our hobby, we now have them with them Tagliamento- Multi-day tours our repertoire expanded.
There has also been something new on our travel agenda in the West since last year: The pyrenees!

Ines and Lotte at Piave scouting.

And so that the paddling season is as long as possible, we'll go to Armenia or until October Georgia.

Of course, we don’t miss anything between our more distant destinations. We are in the Alps in summer around Munich, in the near Salzburg country and in East Tyrol active.

And last but not least: You don't need to be professionals to come on board with us. You can test boats, paddles and equipment from us, rent them or buy them in our shop in the south of Munich.
You can see here who you deal with on the water, in the shop or on the phone.
And then? See you on the river!

The central warehouse - Vera and the test boat fleet in Munich Photo: Christoph Scheuermann

History

How it all began

khobi
Khobi, Georgia

Since the first meeting in August 2003 at the border crossing near Edirne. After almost 60 hours in the truck, the Klepper folding boat in the pack sack behind the seat, the nose pressed flat against the window. The first mosque in the promised land, the first time in Turkey. After five weeks of hitchhiking, backpacking and folding boats it was clear: I have to go there again! And so it happened. I've come back a full ten times in the past eleven years. Four times with your own car and almost always longer than four weeks.

On the way to Shala, Northern Albania.
On the way to the Shala with Meti and Elti, Northern Albania.

The best part was sharing the newly discovered love with friends. Paddlers from Germany, Austria, Poland, Belgium, France and Canada accompanied me on the tours in the Taurus. At some point the idea was born to offer guiding professionally. First alone, then due to the increasing number of participants with an ever-growing team.

Toro's team - at least part of it.
Toro's team - at least part of it.

With Toros Outdoors to Greece, the Balkans and the Caucasus

Other travel destinations were soon explored and approved. The first camps in Greece and Georgia celebrated their premiere in 2013, followed by Albania and now also Montenegro, as well as Italy and Spain. We are the only tour operator in Europe to offer canoe trips for some of these destinations. Together with local partners who have long since become good friends, we help organize logistics and offer guided tours and kayaking courses on the most beautiful rivers in the countries we visit. In addition to our advertised tours, we are also happy to help organize paddling tours and week camps for individual kayakers as well as fixed paddling cliques and canoe clubs.

Guiding on the Mileapotamos, Greece.
Guiding on the Mileapotamos, Greece.

Not just in the distance...

The Toros Outdoors base is now in Aying near Munich. From there we use the home advantage of the Northern Alps with various programs (both with guided tours and with targeted technique and beginner courses). Isar, Loisach, Mangfall and Saalach are just a stone's throw away. The Toros team enjoys home runs after work. And gladly with you too!

Guude's team!

🌍 Test: Google Translate »

Über Uns

Toros Outdoors – eure Adresse für alles rund ums Paddeln! In München und den Alpen zu Hause, das Herz in Südosteuropa, den Blick umherschweifend, wo es noch was Paddelbares gibt. Toros Outdoors steht für Abenteuerreisen mit dem Kajak off the beaten track.
Unser Team bringt euch sicher aufs Wasser und mit Hirn, Herz und Leidenschaft durchs Reiseland eurer Wahl!

Scheuer in Action – gelungene Rutschpartie auf dem Khobitskhali (Georgien) Foto: Vera Niess

Benannt nach den Toros Daglari, dem Taurusgebirge, haben wir 2009 Toros Outdoors mit Paddelreisen in der Türkei gestartet. Heute liegen unsere Top-Destinationen im Balkan und Kaukasus. Das Frühjahr starten wir klassisch zu Ostern in Italien, Albanien, Montenegro und Griechenland.

Auch wenn das Wildwasser- Paddeln unser Steckenpferd ist, haben wir inzwischen mit den Tagliamento– Mehrtages-Touren unser Repertoire erweitert.
Außerdem gibt’s auch im Westen seit letztem Jahr was Neues auf unserer Reise- Agenda: die Pyrenäen!

Ines und Lotte beim Piave- Scouting.

Und damit die Paddelsaison möglichst lange ist, geht’s bis Oktober dann nach Armenien oder Georgien.

Zwischen unseren weiter gelegenen Destinationen lassen wir natürlich nix anbrennen. In den Alpen sind wir im Sommer rund um München, im nahen Salzburger Land und in Osttirol aktiv.

Und zu guter Letzt: Ihr braucht keine Profis sein, um mit uns an Bord zu kommen. Boote, Paddel und Equipment könnt ihr bei uns testen, leihen oder in unserm Shop im Münchner Süden erwerben.
Mit wem ihr es so zu tun bekommt auf dem Wasser, im Laden oder am Telefon, könnt ihr hier sehen.
Und dann? See you on the river!

Das Zentrallager – Vera und die Testbootflotte in München Foto: Christoph Scheuermann

Firmengeschichte

Wie alles begann

Khobi
Khobi, Georgien

Seit der ersten Begegnung im August 2003 am Grenzübergang bei Edirne. Nach fast 60 Stunden im Lkw, das Klepper-Faltboot im Packsack hinterm Sitz, die Nase am Fenster plattgedrückt. Die erste Moschee im gelobten Land, das erste Mal Türkei. Nach fünf Wochen Trampen, Backpacken und Faltbootfahren war klar: Da muss ich wieder hin! Und so geschah es. Volle zehnmal bin ich zurückgekehrt in den letzten elf Jahren. Viermal mit dem eigenen Auto und fast immer länger als vier Wochen.

Auf dem Weg zur Shala, Nordalbanien.
Auf dem Weg zur Shala mit Meti und Elti, Nordalbanien.

Am Schönsten war es, die neu entdeckte Liebe mit Freunden zu teilen. Paddler aus Deutschland, Österreich, Polen, Belgien, Frankreich und Kanada begleiteten mich auf den Touren im Taurus. Irgendwann war die Idee geboren, Guiding professionell anzubieten. Zunächst alleine, dann aufgrund steigender Teilnehmerzahlen mit immer größer werdendem Team.

Toros Team – zumindest ein Teil davon.
Toros Team – zumindest ein Teil davon.

Mit Toros Outdoors nach Griechenland, auf den Balkan und in den Kaukasus

Bald wurden weitere Reiseziele erkundet und für gut befunden. So feierten 2013 die ersten Camps in Griechenland und Georgien Premiere, gefolgt von Albanien und inzwischen auch Montenegro, sowie Italien und Spanien. Für einige dieser Destinationen bieten wir als einziger Veranstalter Europas Kanureisen an. Zusammen mit lokalen Partnern, die längst zu guten Freunden geworden sind, helfen wir, Logistik zu organisieren und bieten Führungsfahrten und Kajakkurse auf den schönsten Flüssen, der von uns bereisten Länder, an. Zusätzlich zu unseren ausgeschriebenen Touren helfen wir auch gerne bei der Organisation von Paddeltouren und Wochencamps für einzelne Kajakfahrer wie auch feste Paddelcliquen und Kanuclubs.

Guiding auf dem Mileapotamos, Griechenland.
Guiding auf dem Mileapotamos, Griechenland.

Nicht nur in der Ferne..

Die Base von Toros Outdoors ist inzwischen in Aying bei München. Von dort nutzen wir mit verschiedenen Programmen (sowohl mit geführten Touren, als auch mit gezielten Technik- und Anfänger- Kursen) den Heimvorteil der Nordalpen. Isar, Loisach, Mangfall und Saalach sind nur einen Steinwurf entfernt. Das Toros Team genießt die Homeruns nach Feierabend. Und gerne auch mit euch!

Guudes Team!

🌍 Test: Google Translate »
    LIEBE SCHNÄPPCHENJÄGER! Unser Team braucht nach der Sommersaison eine Pause samt Fortbildung in Georgien ... Darum ist in der ersten Oktoberhälfte keine Beratung möglich, weder per Email oder Telefon noch im Laden. Online Bestellungen und Versand sind aber aktiv! Wer Beratung braucht, sollte sich also bitte noch im September melden!